2015 Anne MacKay Scholarship

The North Fork Women for Women Fund (NFWFWF), a 501(c)3 charitable organization, is awarding the 2015 Anne MacKay Memorial Scholarship to three North Fork graduating seniors. The first prize of $1,500 is awarded to Adrianna Lawson of Mattituck HS, and Emily Pressler and Julia Saccamano of Southold HS will each be awarded $1,000.

The NFWFWF Anne MacKay Memorial Scholarship was established in 2012 following the death of Ms. MacKay, an original NFWFWF member and supporter. Ms. MacKay was a longtime Orient resident who was a teacher, author, poet and sailor. The scholarship seeks to honor students who reflect Ms. MacKay’s areas of interest and her love of the North Fork.

The award, typically of a single $1,500 scholarship, is one of the largest privately funded scholarships available to graduating seniors on the North Fork. Interested high school students are asked to submit an application along with an essay describing a personal experience or episode that best reflects the applicant’s commitment to enhancing diversity and inclusion in their community.

The experiences of this year’s three finalists reflect Ms. MacKay’s commitment not only to learning but also to the community at large. Indeed, after reviewing the applications and essays, and meeting with the students and their guardians, the NFWFWF committee was so impressed that it decided to award each of the three finalists.

These students are truly inspirational and their goal to help others is reflected in their thoughtful support of their peers and contributions to our community. NFWFWF is confident that all three students will make important contributions in future and is honored to be able to bestow this award on three such capable young women. They truly embody Anne MacKay’s commitment to education, diversity and inclusion.


By | 2016-02-03T15:55:25+00:00 May 1st, 2015|Scholarship|0 Comments

Leave A Comment